Healing Insomnia–what if you’ve tried everything and the last piece to your puzzle is slight food sensitivities

I have had many many sleepless nights, and some health problems and done cleanses and am at a point where I am pretty tuned in to my body (not always, but for the most part lol).  I have noticed this before and am noticing again right now after waking up tonight- that my tongue is just slightly bigger–i.e. swollen ever so slightly– apparently from, I believe, some ingredient-preservative? who knows- from the bottle of prepared teriyaki sauce that I put on some rice noodles.

Some slight food or preservative allergy might be affecting you too–making your tongue just that slight bit bigger and blocking your airway and you think you are having other medical problems when it’s just that slight bit bigger of a tongue, slightly swollen from a food sensitivity, is blocking your airway and you’re waking up and thinking what is wrong with you?! why can’t you sleep (insert desired cuss word),  your brain won’t stop chattering away, you’re too hot/cold, you’re worrying about something/someone, the dog/cat/child must have made you wake up when really you couldn’t breathe very well with your tongue obstructing your airway and your brain signaled your body it was in distress and you weren’t getting enough air.  No, you are not crazy because you have tried everything and still cannot sleep.  Maybe consider trying a cleanse.

Caroline Sutherland offers one that I’ve done a couple times and I like it (www.carolinesutherland.com).  I believe she offers them three or so times a year, in the spring, in the fall, and January.  Also I’ve done a Mediclear cleanse (made by Thorne, www.thorne.com) which I liked for me.  I bought it from my acupuncturist who had done it and I trust her.  I put the Mediclear powder into frozen fruit smoothies.  Just try a couple different cleanse programs that work for you and of course consult your doctor if you need to for your specific health concerns.   Or just take out all prepared foods from your diet and buy whole foods for a while even if it is just for a few days or a week and see if that has any effect on you.  Journal about how you’re sleeping, what you’re eating.  Do not have any caffeine and yes, some ice creams have chocolate pieces in them that can affect your sleep.  I’ve experimented!

Until tomorrow, just relax, don’t stress about not sleeping and put in your favorite meditation cd or ocean noises and relax into your night    and just connect to God/Creator/Spirit/Universe or Love or whatever you believe in and know to be True and enjoy that connection.  Tomorrow is a new day.  It is in your hands.  And it will be a great one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

