every child is an artist

photo-68I did this piece for homework for a calligraphy class where we were practicing doing monoline uncials.  I really like my teacher, but was disheartened when he –can I say hated? it, maybe that’s too strong.  *Really* did not like it.  Especially the large “E.”  I can see his point, but still.  Sigh…and I actually practiced every day– a few times every day– for the entire week.  Sort of ironic that the quote’s supposed to be inspiring us to keep that artistic side of us going as we get older and I hate to admit it but I considered for a second maybe I should just stop since I’m not getting any better.  But I like the piece I did, sure I need more practice (forever! apparently–my hand just seems to have a mind of its own, like when I’m drawing a straight line or tracing over penciled in letters and and my hand will just jolt out some weird direction).  I see some of my mistakes in the lettering, spacing, rhythm of the words, letters.

I don’t want to wait until everything is perfect (which will be never, let’s face it) before I let myself get in the game.  I’ve done that for way too long.   I admire those people who have the chutzpah to say “yeah, I can do that!” and have no idea how to do it.

So I’m going back to the joy(?!?) it brings me, admittedly no joy at this second, but joy there somewhere.  I know not everyone will like what I do and that’s okay.  I will try to accept that- -lol– and model that for my kids, who actually are my most important critics.  And, my kids, by the way, LOVE my piece.  🙂  And really, that’s all that matters.

Namaste and many blessings to you*** and get your crayons, markers, colored pencils out now and scribble and draw.  If not now, when?

P.S.  I don’t want to do a p.s. but to be fair(ish ;), my teacher’s point of view is that if he says that a piece is good now when it’s not, then what will he say when our work IS actually good.  Hmmm…good point and very true, but how do you get that beautiful mix of criticism and areas to work on along with areas improved all wrapped up in an inspiring sandwich of nibs and ink?  Because that is the only way for me to improve while skipping and singing along the (never-ending) path of improvement (and not re-living past miserable lives as a monk scribe by candlelight with my demanding superiors tsk-tsking me about my letter shape and spacing and out-of-the-box artistic vision–come to think of it, my teacher does seem very familiar…).

Leave a Reply

