tombo tuna with quinoa cakes and purple cabbage

I was inspired by two mahimahi recipes in Canyon Ranch Cooking by Jeanne Jones and ended up with Tombo Tuna with Quinoa Cakes and Purple Cabbage with a Roasted Red Bell Pepper Sauce.  Very good and gourmet-like, healthy, my kids ate it, easy but dish intensive.  Definitely worth it!

Roast oiled red bell peppers in oven about 400 degrees F  or so for 35-40 min. along with 2 cloves of garlic (I just notice when they are getting charred a little bit and then I wrap them in the tin foil to sort of steam a bit while they cool and I’m doing other things. Peel off the skin and charred parts and put in cuisinart.  Add 1/4 c. plus 1 T. water and 2 t. bouillon, 1/4 c. red onion, drizzle olive oil, salt to taste.  I only roasted about 1 and 3/4 red bell peppers and with the strength of my garlic I ended up adding some roasted red bell peppers from a jar, about 3 large hunks which was probably about another 1 1/2 bell pepper.

I made 1 c. quinoa (first rinse in warm water to get rid of the bitter saponin) and add a little bit under 2 c. water with 1 or 2 t. bouillon with a pinch of salt and bring to boiling and then turn down heat and cook covered on low heat for 20 min.  Remove from heat and fluff with a fork.  Next, I added a beaten egg to the cooked quinoa in the pot and mixed it all together gently.  Then, in a non-stick skillet, heat 1 T. butter and 2 T. olive oil over med. heat.  In order to form the quinoa mixture into little flat cake-like shapes, I found a small, shallow dish about 3-4 inches across (I used a shallow sushi soy sauce dish). Scoop some of the quinoa mixture and gently press it into the dish and then gently flip the mixture out of the dish and directly onto the medium-hot skillet.  Cook for about 7 min. on each side or until each side of the quinoa cake is golden-ish brown.

For the purple cabbage I put 3 T. rice vinegar with 1 t. honey and 2 T. thinly sliced pickled ginger (I used the brand “the ginger people organic pickled sushi ginger”–very good) into a bowl and mixed along with a pinch of salt.  I added 2 c. purple cabbage and tossed and drizzled a little canola oil and tossed and sprinkled a little sugar and tossed.

I heated a pan with olive oil and cooked the tombo tuna I had lightly salted for about 7 min. each side (depends on how think it is and how you like your fish).

My husband told me that I had upped (is that spelled right?) my game and it was better than anything he had cooked in a very long time.  He is a very good cook with specific tastes so obviously I took that as a compliment.  He said that he was no longer cooking (not that he’s cooked much lately unfortunately).  I took a moment and then told him this was my last hurrah and that I was retiring followed by a “That’s it for me.  I’m outta here.” a la Seinfeld’s George Castanza-esque, leaving on a high not before anyone knows what hit ’em!

Leave a Reply

