um…best pancakes ev-er:0)!!!

My 13 1/2-year-old son wanted to make pancakes and I had buttermilk to use so I had him make “Buttermilk pancakes with blueberry compote” (p.38 but he didn’t make the compote) out of  “The Bon Appetit Cookbook” edited by Barbara Fairchild (2006).  The recipe calls for sour cream and buttermilk along with the usual ingredients and my son substituted coconut flour.  They were a-ma-zing, I mean A-MA-ZING!!!  They tasted crepe-like only thicker.  My husband, who does not like when I create “gluten-free” baked goods, was extremely surprised when I was talking to my son later in the afternoon about the coconut flour–my son choose to substitute it today;  I didn’t even suggest it.  Not a single drip of batter or a crumb left.  Deliciously gone!

(and it didn’t hurt anyone’s tummy like pancakes sometimes do)

04/27/2012 Addendum:

These pancakes have been inconsistent and I will write out the recipe that my son and I have made soon.

Leave a Reply

