the birth of the lotus seed journals

I believe I found the quote on the left-hand page in a Lama Surya Das book; it is a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson  “Make your own Bible, select and collect all the words and sentences that in all your reading have been to you like the blast of triumph out of Shakespeare, Seneca, Moses, John and Paul.”  Wait, don’t take the word “Bible” literally.    I realize it can bring up a lot of different things for people.  As I had been holding on to many pieces of paper since I was a little girl, big and small, of quotes, sayings, inspirational things, interesting things, etc. and so forth and on and on and paper clutter unorganized EVERYWHERE.  I took this as inspiration to write them in one place and in a beautiful notebook and in a legible hand.  Well, one book immediately went to two, three, four, etc..

I love the quote on the right by Chuang Tzu because I feel that stillness/meditation is more important than any one can tell us.  I believe that is where healing, peace, love, contentment, intuition, questions, answers, and incredible joy can be found.  The quote states, “Men [and of course women] cannot see their reflection in running water, but only in still water.  Only that which is itself still can still the seekers of stillness.”

And only when you have mastered the art of being still (and glimpsed who your true self is) can you go out into the world and help those who are seeking the stillness that you have found.

I also like the quote by Thomas Edison–I’ve seen different ones but the basic is this:  when asked how it felt to fail so many times, Edison replied (I’ve seen different answers) either “I never failed once.  It was a two-thousand step process.”  Or “I know two-thousand ways to not make a lightbulb.”

(The picture of the woman praying was from an issue of O, The Oprah Magazine from many years ago.  Let me say this–it is not just a photo–I am brought into this photo and feel like I am there.  It evokes a visceral emotion.)

Leave a Reply

