autism and diet/nutrition/health help?

I know a couple people with dietary needs (not autism) who both said The Gaps Diet helped them.  Check out the website www.gapsdiet.com.  It says that Campbell-Mcbride has a child diagnosed with learning disabilities.   “Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride holds a degree in Medicine and Postgraduate degrees in both Neurology and Human Nutrition.  In her clinic in Cambridge she specializes in nutrition for children and adults with behavioral and learning disabilities, and adults with digestive and immune system disorders….She believes that the link between learning disabilities, the food and drink that we take, and the condition of our digestive system is absolute, and the results of her work have supported her position on this subject.”  The website lists a diet, what to eat, what to avoid eating, what supplements are recommended (probiotics, etc.), and she has a couple of books.  (I have no affiliation with this website or Dr. Natasha Campbell-Mcbride; I just am aware that it has helped a couple people I know with improving their health.)

I have not yet specifically done the GAPS diet, but I did do a cleanse two years ago that took out the popular allergens:  wheat, soy, corn, dairy, sugar, eggs, peanuts, etc.  It pretty much left vegetables, some meats, some fruits, and rice (which I’m questioning if it’s right for me right now).  But after two weeks, I felt the best I had felt since I was seven-years-old (thirty-something years ago).  I felt clarity of mind.  The fogginess had lifted, the post-nasal drip gone, the constant throat clearing from the constant bombardment to the foods I was eating and had a sensitivity (or slight allergy) to–I would eat a cracker and inside my mouth the red alert sounded and the protective mucous started forming and the “a-hem” throat clearing that  instantaneously followed–gone.  So, it’s worth a look.  Baby steps.  Small changes. One habit at a time.  “We are what we eat.”

Leave a Reply

