Recommended cookbooks

I will update this as I go through the alchemical process with recipes and cookbooks–how else can you explain the transformation of flour and eggs into cake?!?

Fast, Fresh, and Green by Susie Middleton –“Harvest Gratin of Butternut Squash, Corn, and Leeks” is very good and here to stay in my household.   I’ve also substituted sweet potatoes and yams for the squash.

Clean Food by Terry Walters–“Sauteed yams with ginger and lime,” “Lentil soup,” “Basic balsamic vinaigrette.”  I just made the “Tofu kale lasagna” without noodles which I know takes the “lasagne” out of it but I did use a thick layer of mozzarella cheese in the middle and on top.  My husband loved it and I thought it was pretty good but my kids were not too enthusiastic about what was on their plates.  The noodles would have helped a little there.

“You won’t be single for long vodka sauce” by Rachel Ray off www.Oprah.com and in Ray’s book, “Classic Rachel Ray 30-minute Meals” is outstanding even though I don’t usually use the vodka in it.  Remember you can substitute rice pasta on those days you don’t want to eat as much wheat.  Don’t forget the parmesan!

Barefoot Contessa At Home by Ina Garten–“Broccolini and balsamic vinaigrette” another staple at our home–delicious!!

The Conscious Cook by Tal Ronnen.  The “Quinoa, avocado, and sweet timbale with roasted tomatillo dressing” is very good and fairly easy but time consuming to make–but definitely worth it!  The tomatillo dressing is amazing!  Remember to rinse the quinoa in warm water and gently rub between your palms to get the natural saponin coating (which is bitter) off.

Google “Today Show Ann Curry’s favorite recipe pasta puttanesca”  It’s from 2005 and very good.  Probably more of a summer dish but fantastic!

Kitchen Life by Art Smith  “The best fish tacos” are good and easy…We used sour cream instead of mayo, cabbage instead of   coleslaw, and added avocado/guacamole.  I just salted the fish with an organic sea salt (somehow it makes it taste better) and cooked it in the olive oil without the breading and it was still good.  The “Tilapia fillets with green olive vinaigrette” (I think I used halibut)  is good.   And his “Basmati rice and vermicelli” is a very good, simple side dish.

Tyler Florence’s Real Kitchen recipe “Chicken Cacciatore” was great and I didn’t even use the milk,wine, or anchovy fillets and I substituted chopped green olives for the capers.  I’ve made this recipe with chicken, pork, and tofu.  You can serve this with Art Smith’s “Basmati rice and vermicelli” and a salad, steamed broccoli, etc.

Cooking with Curtis Stone by Curtis Stone The “Pan-fried salmon with garlic, broad beans and beurre blanc” was very good.  I made this in the summertime and used halibut instead of the salmon and did not make the fava beans but served it with fresh bread, asparagus with brown butter, and brown butter fresh peaches.  The “BBQ zucchini with tomato and white balsamic vinegar” was also very good.  I cooked the zucchini in a pan rather than BBQ.  My kids even ate this!

Mediterranean Harvest by Martha Rose Shulman  The soups “Minestrone” and “Lentil minestrone with greens” were very good.

Leave a Reply

